International Workshop on Antiferroelectrics

Qube Hotel Bahnstadt, 12 – 16 March, Heidelberg, Germany

07.03.2023 von

Fermi Level Engineering of Antiferroelectrics and Beyond

The workshop „Fermi Level Engineering of Antiferroelectrics and Beyond“ is aiming at a discussion of the results and understanding achieved in the LOEWE project FLAME by synthesis, characterization and modelling of Pb-based and Pb-free antiferroelectrics. Together with international experts, the discussions shall particularly address the role of the structure and electronic structure, and the contribution of mobile and immobile electronic and ionic defects on the antiferroelectric behavior. Synergies with the field of ferroelectrics and relaxors shall also be addressed. The title of the workshop also refers to the newly funded CRC FLAIR – Fermi Level Engineering Applied to Oxide Electroceramics for which LOEWE FLAME laid the foundation.

Fermi Level Engineering of Antiferroelectrics and Beyond


  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Klein – spokesperson of LOEWE FLAME and the CRC 1548 FLAIR
  • Prof. Dr. Karsten Albe – deputy spokesperson of LOEWE FLAME and the CRC 1548 FLAIR

In this booklet (wird in neuem Tab geöffnet) , you will find detailed information on the workshop's programme.

  • Karsten Albe – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Dragan Damjanovic – EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Elisabeth Dickey – Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Hui Ding – MPIE, Düsseldorf, Germany
  • Wolfgang Donner – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Sonja Egert – University of St. Andrews, Scotland
  • Emre Erdem – Sabanci University, Turkey
  • Paul Erhart – Chalmers University, Sweden
  • Till Frömling – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Lovro Fulanović – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Yurij Genenko – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Torsten Granzow – LIST, University of Luxembourg
  • Binxiang Huang – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Mirko Imlau – Osnabrück University, Germany
  • Jorge Íñiguez – LIST, University of Luxembourg
  • Andreas Klein – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Mario Maglione – ICMCB Bordeaux, France
  • Barbara Malič – Jožef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
  • Julian Moxter – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Simone Sanna – JLU Gießen, Germany
  • Thorsten Schneider – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Derek Sinclair – University of Sheffield, UK
  • Lorenzo Villa – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Julia Wiktor – Chalmers University, Sweden
  • Bai-Xiang Xu – TU Darmstadt, Germany
  • Hongbin Zhang – TU Darmstadt, Germany

This workshop is supported by the State of Hesse through the LOEWE programme “FLAME” and by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft through CRC 1548 “FLAIR”.